About

 

I am a lover and obsessed snapshot taker of all things in fashion, beauty, travel and fitness. 

I started 5th & Magnolia as a way to share travel adventures with family & friends and then it grew into this little labor of love.

I appreciate you stopping by and do hope that you will enjoy and will stay a while. Possibly while sipping some champs.

xo - margaret

 

 

 

 
FAQs
 
What do you do for a living?
By day I work as a Marketing Consultant and by night, I'm a blogger. 
 
Where did you attend college & what did you major in?
San Jose State University. I majored in Psychology/Journalism and graduated in 2005.
 
Where do you call home?
 Portland, Maine where my husband and I recently bought our first home which was documented on House Hunters in case you wanted to check out what makes this city so freaking awesome.
 
Why did you start a blog?
It initially started as a way for me to share my travels and life with family & friends while we were traveling internationally as we had limited cell coverage or data. I quickly found out that I actually enjoyed documenting everything and over the past 5 years it has grown into what it is today.
 
Why did you name your blog 5th & Magnolia?
One thing that can take me right back to living in the South is the smell of Magnolias, I can't describe it but it's one of the sweetest, most beautiful scents. My grandmother used to keep them in the house and in the spring and summer the smell of them outside would be overwhelming - and I could not have thought of a better name for the blog. As for the 5th Avenue aspect of the name - a nod to my love of 5th Ave. in NYC.
 
What kind of camera do you use?
Canon Rebel t3i
 
Who takes your pictures? 
My wonderful & very patient husband.
 
How tall are you, and what size?
I'm 5'7 and my size varies depending on the brand. In
most cases though I wear a size xs or small shirt (2,4), small blazer or jacket (4), size 4 pant (26, 27) with a long inseam, size xs-small dress & skirt (2,4) and size 7.5-8 shoe. In my workoutgear I tend to go a bit larger, as I do not like ultra tight clothing when working out, and wear a size 4 or 6 at Lululemon and with other brands like Nike, Gap Fit & UnderArmour I fluctuate between a Small - Medium.
 
What is your fitness/eating routine?
I try my best to eat healthy 5 days a week and usually enjoy a 'cheat' meal (or two) over the weekend. I try to space out these cheat meals so that they do not become a cheat week (which has happened...I am human).
 
As for fitness, my husband and I love to workout together which keeps us both accountable and motivated. Plus it makes it a whole heck of a lot more fun. We have an amazing trainer here in Portland at a little studio called Shift who kicks our tails 3 days a week in a combination of private and small group sessions, we enjoy an indoor spin class at Reve Cycling least 2-3 times per week and try to make it to one yoga class a week as well.
 
On the weekends, or when traveling, I love to get in some outdoor activities such as hiking, swimming, beach yoga, biking, beach walks, kayaking & SUP. I find what works best for me is mixing it up - always trying new routines and figuring out on an ongoing basis what works best. Sadly, post 30, it seems to be an ongoing battle...but I am happy to say that the above keeps me winning!
 
Is your hair naturally curly? What about the color?
Lucky for me...yes it is, and yes I love it.
 
As for the color, I am a natural blonde (in all aspects of the phrase) but I do get highlights added in by my lovely stylist at Head Games Hair Salon every 6-8 weeks to keep it fresh.
 
Where are your favorite places to shop?
I frequent; Banana Republic (both retail and the outlet), Off Saks 5th Avenue, Nordstrom, Nordstrom Rack, Express & Lululemon. I also really enjoy shopping in boutiques while we are traveling - especially for jewelry pieces to add to my collection.